Honorary Members

The Bertrand Russell Society awards honorary membership for meeting at least one of the following criteria:

  1. they are a member of Bertrand Russell’s family
  2. they worked closely with Russell in an important
  3. they have made a distinctive contribution to Russell scholarship
  4. they have acted in support of a cause or idea that Russell championed
  5. they have promoted awareness of Russell or of Russell’s work
  6. they have exhibited qualities of character (such as moral courage) that are reminiscent of Russell’s own character

The Bertrand Russell Society’s honorary members are:

Neil Abercrombie

Tariq Ali

Kenneth Blackwell

Mario Bunge

Noam Chomsky

Elizabeth R. Eames

Daniel Ellsberg

Christopher Farley

Johan Galtung

Taslima Nasreen

John Allen Paulos

John Russell (7th Earl)

Amartya Sen

Katharine Russell Tait

Ibn Warraq

Past honorary members that are now deceased include:

  • A. J. Ayer
  • Ken Coates
  • Peter Cranford
  • Lester Denonn
  • Paul Edwards
  • Antony Flew
  • Michael Foot
  • Ivor Grattan-Guinness
  • Paul Kurtz
  • Nelson Mandela
  • Linus Pauling
  • David Pears
  • Karl Popper
  • W. V. Quine
  • Conrad Russell
  • Dora Russell
  • Edith Russell
  • John Conrad Russell
  • Paul A. Schilpp


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: